If you want to scoot around the town of Texas in your moped or if you want to enjoy the thrill of riding a motorcycle on public roads in Texas, you will need a valid Government approved Texas motorcycle license.
In fact, the Government of Texas requires all riders to have a valid motorcycle license of M1 Class, if they want to go around the state in their two-wheelers or even three-wheeled motorcycles.
In this comprehensive guide, we will provide you with every bit of information you need to have a crystal clear picture of how to get a motorcycle driving license in Texas with a completion certificate…
How to Get a Motorcycle Driving License in Texas?
First and foremost, if you are a living resident of Texas and if you already possess a Driving License, in order to ride a motorcycle legally on public streets, all you need is a motorcycle endorsement.
A motorcycle endorsement is an additional piece of license (Government approval) to show that the particular person is eligible for both driving a car and riding a motorcycle in the State of Texas.
But, if you do not have a driving license and you want to ride a motorcycle, you will have to first complete the course on Drivers’ Education.
Here is What You Need to Get a Motorcycle Driving License in Texas –
Enroll in a DPS-Approved Safety Course
DPS or the Texas Department of Safety requires every person who wants to ride a motorcycle in the State to enroll and complete a motorcycle safety course approved by their department. The DPS approved motorcycle safety course is an easy way to get a motorcycle license based on Texas law.
In this entire course, a person will get to know the basic controls of a motorcycle in great detail. They will learn how to maneuver a motorcycle safely, how to make safe turns, how to brake safely, and even how to swerve.
This course is packed with 10 hours of motorcycle skill training classes for students who want to ride their motorcycles soon. After you complete the course successfully, you will receive a certificate called the Motorcycle Safety Course Completion Certificate or the MSB-8/MSB-8R.
The Motorcycle Safety Foundation conducts skill test, vision test, driving test, and motorcycle knowledge test to hand over Class M license or Class C license based on the results.
This certificate is valid for 24 months after completion and you will need this piece of paper in order to apply for a motorcycle license in Texas.
Documents Required by DPS for Motorcycle Driving License in Texas
For a Minor –
If your age is between 15 and 17 years, you will need to carry your proof of identity along with citizenship. Therefore, it’s important you carry your Social Security Card, Motorcycle Insurance paper, and motorcycle registration documents.
The State of Texas also requires young and minor riders to provide evidence that they are not just attending their high school classes but are also passing them. In fact, as a student, you can acquire a Texas Verification of Enrollment Form (VOE) from your high school or from your GED Administrator.
Along with these documents, you will also need to carry your learner’s permit or provisional license and Form DE-964. These documents will provide evidence that you had successfully completed your mandatory 32 hours of classroom program for Drivers’ Education.
It’s important to note that if you are a minor with a motorcycle driving license from another state, you still need to complete the Drivers’ Education Course in Texas to get your Texas license.
If you are a rider under 16 years, you are restricted to driving a motorcycle that is less than 250 CC. However, this restriction gets automatically lifted the moment you turn 16.
For a person above 18 years –
If you are above 18 years of age, you will need your identity proof and citizenship along with your Social Security Number and proof of residency. Also, you will need your motorcycle registration documents or motorcycle insurance papers.
If you do not have a driving license from Texas, you will have to provide official evidence that you have successfully completed the classroom part of the Drivers’ Education Course.
Texas Motorcycle Written Test
For motorcyclists, the State of Texas also requires them to pass the vision and knowledge examinations. But if you can provide valid documents that you had completed a Government-approved motorcycle safety course after January 2015, then those aforementioned tests are not mandatory for you.
However, if you are under the age of 18 years, you must pass a written test before getting a motorcycle driving license.
Texas Motorcycle Road Test
In order to complete the Texas motorcycle road test, a rider must bring a motor vehicle, a motorcycle, and a driver with a valid driving license along with them. If you are under 21 years, you must wear a helmet for this test.
The reason you need the motor vehicle is that during the test your driver will follow you in the car.
For riders under 18 years, this road test is mandatory to obtain a motorcycle driving license in Texas. It is important to remember that this test is not mandatory for riders above 18 years who already have unrestricted motorcycle driving licenses issued to them by other States or the Canadian Government.
Here are a few things that are included in this road test –
- Safely Merging with Traffic
- Safely Changing Lanes with Arm Signals
- Staying Under the Suggested Speed Limit
- Obeying All Traffic Signals
A motorcycle driving license in Texas typically costs between $8 and $33 depending on your age and whether you are getting an endorsement or a license. The cost also depends on what course you are enrolling for and what tests you need to appear for. So, it’s relative but the range remains more or less the same.
Remember that if you complete a motorcycle safety course or the Drivers’ Education course properly, no test will be difficult for you including the written test; barring a few questions that can be a bit tricky. But if you are a motorcycle enthusiast who is serious about riding a motorcycle on public streets and highways, then you must have paid full attention in your class to have answers to all those questions.
Now that you know everything on how to get a motorcycle license in Texas, what are you waiting for? Go out and ride with an unrestricted motorcycle license!